Soap Box Edition

One year, 2 pants sizes and a nasty pair of hand-me-down Nike’s later; this broad ran a 5k.

I know it’s only like 3 point 2 or some-odd miles, but I’m pretty proud of myself. Since these new shoes I can actually last 2 miles on the route without my shins screaming at me. Now that I’m working 50 hours a week, I can honestly say I’m dedicated to exercise. If I can do it in the precious time I have left, I can do anything.soapbox

When I think of this last year, I’m a little flabbergasted (yeah I just said that word). I released 40 lbs, eliminated tons of shit from my diet, said goodbye to my dear Big Mac and took responsibility for my unhappiness with myself. I’m learning of the things in my life I can control and the things I can’t. And this is something I have a lot of control over. It’s amazing how much we play the victim in our own movies. “I was born with a genetic predisposition,” “My parents fed me McDonald’s,” “I have a slow metabolism” – as ADULTS people talk like this. Taking yourself out of the victim role and into the hero role, you’ll be appalled at what you can do. It’s time to grow up. Take responsibility for what you have and what you were given and run with it. And the worst thing you can do is compare yourself to other people. YOU have the control to get off your sorry ass and make yourself happy. What you can’t control, well your just going to have to deal with it because you always do, and own up to it, because it could be SO much worse!

Anyway, I didn’t intend to get on my sappy soap box. But I am learning that it’s a process, and what you’re going through right now is supposed to happen. It was intended to so that you could learn something, and take something with you on your next trip. Isn’t that relieving? It’s not happening TO me, but for me. I’m discovering self-awareness and growth like a BOSS. Life is too short, I only have 70 years left, and this is all I have to show for my first 24, so I don’t pretend to be anything but grateful and determined to get better and better. I want to be authentic and content.

“Be as you wish to seem.”
-Socrates-

Leave a comment