Good Food Shall Persevere!

So a lot of what I share on here is based off my personal experience. My newest venture is making the most of my food. Nutrition density and perseverance. I’m not rich, and I don’t have money to get Chinese take out and pizza every night (although pizza is an every other weekly event), and my body shan’t afford it either. I’ve found these last months you need but a few core items that will last you several meals, that your body will be happy about.

One, a whole chicken and two, eggs.

For those of you who are vegans, that’s unfortunate, because animal products are incredibly versatile (then again, I’ve never successfully been a vegan).

Image

  • A whole chicken you can boil up and use the chicken meat for anything and keep the stock you just made and freeze it for a soup later that week all lasting you at least 6 days. We have a slow cooker, so I slow cooked a huge chicken over night, and the next day the meat just fell of the bones and it had the moistest flavor.

Image

  • Eggs, I always buy the big 5 dozen rack, because we eat eggs a lot. When they’re on sale I try to get cage-free organic eggs- the nutrition value is immensely greater than your average eggs, high in Omega-3. I boil about a dozen, and those last me a week maybe more. I’ll make egg salad, deviled eggs, or grab one and go when I’m in a hurry. I make quiches, frittatas, breakfast eggs etc.
  • For those of you who are greek yogurt fans, I but a big container of Zoi honey greek yogurt. At my work, Good Health Nutrition Center, they have the big containers for $3.99, which is the cheapest in town- I would know. That lasts me a week, I have a little every morning for breakfast with my hard boiled egg, and anytime when I need something sweet in my mouth.

 

Image

  • If you’re a fan of soups, always keep broth, onions, celery, milk/cream, and any veggies you love on hand. I found a build your own soup website. And you can use whatever you have on hand to make a yummy soup!

Image

  • Also, bread is a good one to make homemade, it’s so much cheaper and better for you. You can get a bread machine at Goodwill for pretty cheap, I managed to get both of mine there for a good deal and they both worked well. Or if you prefer to be old fashioned, kneading it up and popping it in the oven works wonderfully. Here’s a site that’ll help you in your homemade bread making adventures.
  • Another simple tip that I read somewhere, was to keep all your vegetable scraps in a container, and then at the end of the week boil them and make your own vegetable stock for soups or what have you. I’ve started my jar under the sink yesterday.

My next year’s goals are to enter the world of canning. Yes, I’m going to can the hell out of everything! I’m excited.

It’s wise to schedule yourself a ‘Make Day’ once a week to get all of this boiling, slow cooking, kneading and baking out of the way and ready for the work week. Any other tips, suggestions PLEASE post below! I’d love to hear more creative ideas!

3 thoughts on “Good Food Shall Persevere!

  1. Love your blog!
    We got chickens this year and have been spoiled with 4-5 FRESH eggs every day. So thankful for the opportunity.
    I live in Alaska where fresh produce isnt quality and its VERY expensive so the fresh salmon and fresh eggs we have here we appreciate. 🙂

Leave a comment